India bowl first in the final T20I; Rodrigues, Schutt rested

Toss India chose to bowl against Australia

India won the toss – for the fourth match in a row — and opted to field against Australia in the fifth T20I at the Brabourne Stadium in Mumbai.

India captain Harmanpreet Kaur said at the toss that Jemimah Rodrigues has been rested to bring in an extra spinner in Rajeshwari Gayakwad, “to hopefully stop runs.” Gayakwad had played the third T20I, but was then dropped in favour of an extra batter in Harleen Deol in the fourth game.

Tahlia McGrath is captaining Australia in the absence of Alyssa Healy, who strained her calf while batting in the last game. Phoebe Litchfield replaced her in the team, while pacer Kim Garth returned for Megan Schutt.

Australia come into this match having already secured the series, taking a 3-1 lead after a seven-run win in the fourth match at the Brabourne Stadium.

India : 1 Smriti Mandhana, 2 Shafali Verma, 3 Harleen Deol, 4 Harmanpreet Kaur (capt), 5 Devika Vaidya, 6 Richa Ghosh (wk), 7 Deepti Sharma, 8 Radha Yadav, 10 Anjali Sarvani, 10 Rajeshwari Gayakwad, 11 Renuka Singh

Australia : 1 Beth Mooney (wk), 2 Phoebe Litchfield, 3 Tahlia McGrath (capt), 4 Ashleigh Gardner, 5 Ellyse Perry, 6 Grace Harris, 7 Annabel Sutherland, 8 Heather Graham, 9 Alana King, 10 Kim Garth, 11 Darcie Brown

Web Hyip
Previous articleExplained: Eyes in the sky! N Korea confirms test of a spy satellite, but what are spy satellites?
Next article‘In View Of Sudden Spurt In Covid Cases In US, China…’: Govt Issues Guidelines To States