Gujarat Election: Congress Announces 39 Names In 5th, 6th Lists, Jignesh To Contest From Vadgam

New Delhi: The Congress party on Sunday released two lists of 39 candidates for the Gujarat elections wherein Jignesh Mevani’s candidature has been announced for the Vadgam constituency.

Jignesh Mevani won from the Vadgam seat in Gujarat’s Banaskantha district in 2017 as an Independent candidate.

The fifth list featured six candidates including Manhar Patel from Botad in place of Ramesh Mer. Later, 33 candidates more candidates were announced, taking the total number of candidates declared so far to 142.

The candidates named in the fifth list were Jayanti Jerajbhai Patel from Morbi, Jivan Kumbharvadiya from Jamnagar Rural, Chhattarsinh Gunjariya from Dhrangadhra, Mansukhbhai Kalariya from Rajkot West and Divyesh Chavda from Gariadhar.

In the sixth list of 33 candidates, the Congress candidates included Mevani from Vadgam (SC) seat, Thakor Mohansinh from Mansa, Baldevji Thakor from Kalol, Imran Khedawala from Jamalpur-Khadia, Amit Chavda from Anklav, Bal Kishen Patel from Dabhoi and Sukhrambhai Rathva from Jetpur (ST) seat.

The Congress released its first list on November 4, announcing the names of 43 candidates for the polls.

On November 10, the party came out with another list of 46 names. It released a list of seven candidates on Friday but one was a replacement for the earlier announced candidate. The fourth list of nine candidates was released on Saturday.

The grand old party is seeking to oust the BJP from power in the home state of Prime Minister Narendra Modi where the saffron party has been in power for more than two decades.

Elections for the 182-member Gujarat Assembly will be held in two phases on December 1 and 5. The counting of votes will be taken up on December 8.

(With Agency Inputs)

Web Hyip
Previous articleWarner eyes Test retirement within a year
Next articleKeke Palmer to join ‘Saturday Night Live’ as hosting guest in December