Congress Legislative Party Meet Today Over Leadership Change In Rajasthan

New Delhi: Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot on Friday announced that he will contest the Congress President Elections and will step down from the CM post if he wins the polls. Following his announcement, the Congress legislative party will hold a meeting in the evening today at CM Gehlot’s residence in Jaipur where a resolution will be passed relating to change of leadership in Rajasthan, reported news agency ANI. 

Congress interim chief Sonia Gandhi will take a decision for the change of face in Rajasthan, for which a resolution will be passed in today’s meeting. 

The Rajasthan CM is likely to step down from his post before filing his nomination for Congress President poll, reported the news agency. 

All India Congress Committee (AICC) in-charge of Rajasthan Ajay Maken, Leader of Opposition in Rajya Sabha Mallikarjun Kharge have been appointed as observers for the meeting which is scheduled to take place at 7pm today. 

ALSO READ: Ashok Gehlot To Contest Congress President Election, To Resign As Rajasthan CM If Elected Party Chief

Maken had earlier on Saturday a meeting with Congress interim president Sonia Gandhi. 

“Hon’ble Congress President has appointed Sh.Mallikarjun Kharge as Observer along with Sh.Ajay Maken,Gen. Secretary AICC, Incharge of Rajasthan, to attend the meeting of Congress Legislature Party (CLP) of Rajasthan Legislative Assembly slated to be held on 25th September at 7 PM,” said AICC general secretary (organisation) KC Venugopal in a tweet. 

Process for filing nomination commenced on Saturday with a contest between Gehlot and Thiruvananthapuram MP Shashi Tharoor. 

ALSO READ: J&K | Terrorists Fire Upon Two Bihar Labourers In Pulwama, Injured In Stable Condition, Say Police

Last date for filing nomination is September 30 and polling will be held on October 17 if two candidates are in fray. If only one candidate contests the election, he/she will be elected unopposed and the result will be announced on October 19. 

Chairman of Central Election Authority Madhusudan Mistri will be available in Congress headquarters in the national capital to take the nomination papers as returning officer of the election.

Web Hyip
Previous articleTexas Tech tops No. 22 Texas with FG in wild OT finish
Next articleSwitzerland to destroy over 10 million expired Moderna COVID-19 doses